BY APB STAFF on 15 Dec 2021

Loic Venance claims top prize in the annual contest, with his shot of sailor Jérémie Beyou taken during the Vendée Globe

Main award winner | Photo: Loïc Venance

French photographer Loïc Venance has won the Mirabaud Yacht Racing Image 2021 contest, for a photograph of sailor Jérémie Beyou taken during the Vendée Globe.

The annual contest celebrates some of the best sailing photography of the past year. The winners were announced at a gathering in Paris last week, in the presence of sailing stars Alan Roura and Jérémie Beyou.

A total of 126 photographers spanning 24 nationalities participated in the 13th edition of the contest, which was decided by an international jury. Their photos illustrate some of the sailing season’s highlights, including the Vend√©e Globe, the Olympic Games and the America’s Cup, as well as SailGP and other popular events such as the Fastnet race, Voiles de Saint-Tropez, Mini Transat and sailing regattas all over the world.

Second place | Photo: Martina Orsini

Venance joined Agence France Presse (AFP) in 2001 and started to work in sailing in 2016, covering offshore races such as the Vendée Globe, Route du Rhum and Transat Jacques Vabre.

“I am very happy to have won this prize, which is clearly an international reference in sailing photography, and to have my photo chosen among so many high-quality images,” said Venance after being presented with the main award.

Third place | Daniel Forster

Italian photographer Martina Orsini is this year’s runner-up, with veteran yacht racing photographer, Switzerland’s Daniel Forster, in third.

The public award, based on the number of public votes cast on the internet, was won by Patrick Condy from the UK with an image of Alex Thomson’s Hugo Boss rounding the Fastnet Rock.

Public award winner | Photo: Patrick Condy

“It is an amazing honour to have won the public award in such a prestigious competition”, says Condy. “This award is something all marine photographers aspire to win and it is great to see it going strong in what has been a difficult year for us all.”

Shortlisted | Photo: Valeria Isaenko

Shortlisted | Photo: Joka Gemesi

Shortlisted | Photo: Marina Semenova

Shortlisted | Photo: Michael Chittenden

Shortlisted | Photo: Loris Ppozzetto

Shortlisted | Photo: Eike Schurr

Shortlisted | Photo: Robert Hajduk

Shortlisted | Photo: Francesco Ferri

Shortlisted | Photo: Ricky Wilson